Dyer Brook Postal History Aroostook County, Maine

Last update for this page: 14 June 2023

This page is part of the Maine Postal History website—a project of the Waterville Stamp Club. For more information, see <u>https://www.thewatervillestampclub.com/mph</u>.

Dyer Brook was organized as a plantation for election purposes as early as September 6, 1858. After several additional "organizations," it was incorporated as a town on March 21, 1891.

During the history of Dyer Brook, there has been only one post office.

Briefly, the history of this one is as follows:1. Dyer Brook Post Office opened on 23 March 1868 and closed on 31 March 1930.

)	Smyrna Mills my	(II ona	Ludlow	HC m3	ULTON
5		7 Spauldin	eL.	6	
/	20	ASHLAND JUNC. akfield		NewLimerick	$i \land i$
			Draws.	*******	5%
2	5 Dyer	Brook	47	inneus a	
1	Piea	sanri.		$\sum_{i=1}^{n}$	Hodgdon
X	Island Falls	SkitacookyL.	Beave U Lake		173
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~	A La Contraction	- <del>}-{-</del>			7 48

Relative location of the Dyer Brook Post Office in 1914. Source: Post Route Map of the State of Maine 1914. http://www.mainephilatelic.org/PostRouteMaps/MainePostRouteMap1914.pdf Post office information for Dyer Brook is listed below. In addition, postmarks that collectors have provided have been included.

#### Dyer Brook

## **Dyer Brook**

23 March 1868: Dyer Brook post office opened.

23 March 1868: Samuel D. Philpot became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

29 May 1880: E.H. Townsend became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

6 July 1883: William H. Kelley became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

1 December 1899: Oscar H. Moulton became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.



20 January 1900: The circular postmark is 27 mm with a fancy circle waffle killer.

### 22 July 1901: Daniel N. Cookson became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

5. AINE Miss L. B. Patrick, * 75 Spring St. Portland

5 December 1906: The circular postmark is 32 mm in diameter with a Doane 3/2 killer.

#### 3 October 1907:

Herman F. Lougee became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

https://www.thewatervillestampclub.com/mph

ima

23 December 1907: The circular postmark used as a received cancel is 30.5 mm in diameter with a Doane 3/2 killer.

#### 4 September 1919:

James M. White became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

18 March 1922:

Edwin L. Cookson became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

16 February 1927:

Ora W. Clark became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

#### 5 September 1928:

Annie E. Cookson became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

30 October 1928:

Alma H. Stevens became Postmaster for Dyer Brook Post Office.

1264 THIS SIDE OF CARD IS FOR ADDRESS E. S. Clevelon Hore

1 May 1929: The circular postmark is 32 mm in diameter with a four-bar (B) killer

1930 March 31:

Dyer Brook post office is closed—service from Island Falls.

Credits:

This document is based on the original web page compiled by the V. F. Thomas Co. (2021), with revisions and additions by James Husson and Brian Damien (2023).

Thank you for the contributions to this page by James Husson and Max Lynds.

And thank you to the Waterville Stamp Club <u>https://thewatervillestampclub.com</u> for hosting this project.

Sources:

The Post Offices of Maine 2022, Maine Philatelic Society: http://www.mainephilatelic.org/books/TPOOM

Hersey (T5R5), Dyer Brook Plantation (T5R4), Crystal Plantation (T4R5) & Island Falls (T4R4) [map] from the 1877 Atlas of Aroostook County, Maine: <u>https://digitalmaine.com/atlas_aroostook_1877/12/</u>

Additional material, including links to official records of postmaster appointments, can be found at Sources for Researching Maine Post Offices, Postmasters, and Postal History: <a href="http://www.mainephilatelic.org/books/post-office-sources.pdf">http://www.mainephilatelic.org/books/post-office-sources.pdf</a>.