Linneus Postal History Aroostook County, Maine

Last update for this page: 17 February 2024

This page is part of the Maine Postal History website, a project of members of the Maine Philatelic Society. For more information, see <u>http://www.mainephilatelic.org/mph</u>.

Linneus is a town in Aroostook County, incorporated on 19 March 1836, in Washington County from Linneus township T2. On 1 May 1839, it became part of Aroostook County.

During the history of the town of Linneus, there have been three post offices.

Briefly, the history of these three is as follows:

1. Linneus post office operated from 11 February 1831 to 1 May 1839 as part of Washington County and from 1 May 1839 to 18 January 1974 as part of Aroostook County.

2. North Linneus post office operated from 27 November 1855 to 16 November 1881.

3. South Linneus post office operated from 24 March 1838 to 8 December 1838.

In 1869, there were two post offices in Linneus: Linneus, and North Linneus. (source: Post Route Map of the State of Maine 1869; Excerpt below from University of North Texas http://texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth298381/?q=postal.

Smyrna Mills	Welodst nete Ruad Sta. Richmond
Dyer Brook N.Linneus	a Union Defice Sta.
5 10 Linneus of Dakfield South Hodgdon	28 8 7 8 5 Up

Post Offices from Linneus are listed below. In addition, postmarks that collectors have provided from the towns/villages associated with Linneus for this project have been included.

<u>Linneus</u> <u>North Linneus</u> <u>South Linneus</u>

Linneus

11 February 1831:

Linneus post office opened as part of Washington County.

11 February 1831:

Moses Burley became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

Burley and Cany Esq Member Mhodegistatur Angusta

3 February 1833: Manuscript

1 May 1839:

Linneus became part of Aroostook County.

Linneus, Maine Postal History Page 3

Ang 21m. 03 Col. Charles Janves

21 August 1843: Manuscript

25 May 1844:

Isaiah Morrison became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

9 May 1849:

Lucius Huxford became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

23 May 1850:

Jesse Blunt became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

30 March 1853:

Daniel Howard became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

11 September 1861:

Stephen G. Ward became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

27 March 1867:

Lyman P. Goodhue became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

9 August 1869:

Henry H. Ward became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.



15 March 1870: The circular postmark is 24 mm in diameter with a four-circle target killer.

20 December 1882:

Lewis C. Sprague became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

22 June 1883:

Enoch Bamford became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

30 December 1885:

Benjamin Alexander became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

POSTAL NOTHING BUT THE ADDRESS TO BE ON THIS SIDE.	M
E merrill & Sons Roulton Maine	

2 April 1888: The circular postmark is 30 mm in diameter with a fancy partially shaded star killer.

11 October 1888:

Mrs. Mary E. Alexander became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

29 November 1889: Benjamin F. French became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

Mason R. Benn Centerville. Ro. Carleton bo. N.B.

24 February 1890: The circular postmark is 27 mm in diameter with a four-circle target killer.

1 November 1893:

Ira E. Ruth became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

6 October 1897:

Benjamin B. Byron became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

29 November 1905:

Percy B. Byron became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

28 January 1908:

Post Office discontinued effective 8 February 1908; however, these orders were rescinded on 28 February 1908.

17 March 1908:

Ira E. Ruth became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

Linneus, Maine Postal History Page 6



9 July 1908: The circular postmark is 30 mm in diameter with a four-bar (A) killer.

FOR CORRESPONDENCE FOR fear wells an MM AC Mor

13 August 1914: The circular postmark is 33 mm in diameter with a four-bar (B) killer.

24 February 1915:

Fred A. Bither became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

28 February 1919:

Clinton F. Morrow became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

1 March 1920:

Harold J. Logie became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

3 November 1933:

Linneus Post Office was discontinued effective 30 December 1933; however, these orders were rescinded on 29 December 1933.

16 February 1934: Mrs. Mildred N. Logie became Postmaster for Linneus Post Office (deceased 25 October 1956).

o Mrs. Arthur terris Northpart Aue. Belfast, Maine

15 December 1953: The circular postmark is 31.5 mm in diameter with a four-bar (B) killer.

2 January 1957: Harold J. Logie became Acting Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

8 February 1957:

Harold J. Logie became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office (deceased 22 October 1957).

6 January 1958:

Thelma A. Logie became the Acting Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.



29 May 1958: The circular postmark is 33 mm in diameter with a four-bar (B) killer.

8 April 1958:

Thelma A. Logie became the Postmaster for Linneus Post Office.

18 January 1974:

Linneus post office closed. Zip Code 04730. Service from Houlton.

North Linneus

27 November 1855: North Linneus Post Office opened.

27 November 1855:

Parker P. Burleigh became the Postmaster for the North Linneus Post Office.



26 September 1864: Manuscript

If not delivered within 10 days, to be retur Hon. William M.M.Arthur Limingtone, Meaine.

1 November 1870: The circular postmark is 27 mm in diameter with a four-circle target killer.



18 April 1880: The circular postmark is 25 mm in diameter with a four-circle target killer.

16 November 1881:

North Linneus Post Office closed.

South Linneus

24 March 1838:

South Linneus Post Office opened as part of Washington County.

24 March 1838:

Jeremiah Trueworthy became Postmaster for South Linneus Post Office.

08 December 1838:

South Linneus Post Office closed as part of Washington County.

Credits:

This document is based on the original web page compiled by the V. F. Thomas Co. (2021), with revisions and additions by James Husson and Brian Damien (2024).

Thank you for the contributions to this page from the Strout Family, James Husson, and Max Lynds.

Thank you to the Waterville Stamp Club (https://thewatervillestampclub.com) for helping ensure this project's continuity.

Sources:

The Post Offices of Maine 2022, Maine Philatelic Society: http://www.mainephilatelic.org/books/TPOOM

Linneus, T3R4, T2R4 [map] from the 1877 Atlas of Aroostook County, Maine <u>https://digitalmaine.com/atlas_aroostook_1877/14/</u> Linneus Village, Frenchville (T18R5), St. Agatha & Madawaska (T18R4) [map] from the 1877 Atlas of Aroostook County, Maine: <u>https://digitalmaine.com/atlas_aroostook_1877/48/</u>

Additional material, including links to official records of postmaster appointments, can be found at Sources for Researching Maine Post Offices, Postmasters, and Postal History: http://www.mainephilatelic.org/books/post-office-sources.pdf.

National Archives Catalog Postmaster Appointments for Aroostook County, Maine [1832-1971] <u>https://catalog.archives.gov/id/78746425</u>

Postmaster Finder by City: https://about.usps.com/who/profile/history/postmaster-finder/postmasters-by-city.htm